Newry, Mourne and Down


Cllr Robert Burgess

Robert Burgess, 60 years old, married to Jayne for 35 years, Four children; Rosemary married to Thomas, 4 grandchildren, Andrew married to Sara, Hugh and Alexander Education: Attended Alexander Dickson Primary, Saintfield High School, Newtownards Technical College. Robert joined the family dairy farm at 16 until he married and moved to his own farm in Saintfield where he currently farms an organic mixed unit of suckler herd, breeding sheep and grain enterprise along with his son Hugh. Co-opted onto Down District Council in 1999, Vice Chairman of Council 2003/04 and Chairman of Council 2004/05. Current Newry Mourne & Down District Committees - Chairman of Planning, Cultural and Economic Development, Finance Working Group, Newry Mourne and Down Economic Forum, Partnership Panel, Belfast Regional City Deal, International Relations Forum, Strategic Project Working Group, LAGS. External Bodies - NILGA - Vice President, UK Forum, Economy and International Affairs Network, Northern Ireland Strategic Migration Partnership - Vice Chairman, NAC - Executive Member, East Border Regions – Board of Directors, Audit and Governance Chairman. Ulster Farmers Union - Executive & Chairman of County Down Committee. Involved in local community and cultural organisations.



Cllr David Taylor

David was raised in Newry and currently resides in Bessbrook with his wife Valerie and son George. He has served as a Councillor since 2011 and is currently the Group Leader of the Ulster Unionist Party Representatives on Newry, Mourne & Down District Council. He was previously employed as a political assistant to former Newry & Armagh Assembly Member Danny Kennedy and is currently employed within the victims sector serving as a welfare support officer in the South Armagh area. He has a keen interest in community activities and is an active member of his Church and local community and cultural organisations.

David sits on the Active & Healthy Communities and Neighbourhood Services Committees on Newry, Mourne & Down District Council. He is also a member of other statutory bodies within Council including the Southern Health Working Group, Equality & Good Relations Forum, Newry Regeneration Board, Brexit Forum, Sustainability & Climate Change Group and Peace IV Group.