Antrim and Newtownabbey

Alderman Mark Cosgrove
  • Glengormley Urban
  • 07740063726

Mark was first elected in 2005 for Carrickfergus Council. During his time on Carrickfergus council, he was the Deputy Mayor. He successfully moved to represent his hometown of Glengormley at the 2011 election and has been re-elected at all elections since. He was selected to be Group Leader of the Ulster Unionist Council group on Antrim and Newtownabbey council following the election in 2015.

Mark has been part of the Party's senior leadership team serving as Party Treasurer from 2008 to 2020 and having served as the Party's Economic spokesperson under Lord Empey's leadership was appointed to the position of Business Spokesperson by Steve Aiken. For the last 30 years, Mark has worked for Redhead International and operated as a Director and shareholder since 2001. Redhead was purchased by one of the world's largest logistics businesses for whom Mark is now responsible for the commercial side of the road freight product in the UK and Ireland. Mark also holds several non-executive directors roles.

Mark is a fanatical football fan. He has been a Northern Ireland and Leeds United home and away season ticket holder for more than 25 years. He is married with two children.

Photo of Vera McWilliam

Cllr Vera McWilliam
  • Ballyclare
  • 07792 477050


Vera was first elected in 1997 to  Newtownabbey Council and in June 2000 had the honour of being elected their first female Mayor. Vera also served as Deputy Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey Council in 2018. Vera has extensive experience working for constituents and has been Chair of the Audit Committee, Chair of Community Planning and Regeneration, and Vice-Chair of Operations.

Vera has been appointed by the Institute of Export and International Trade as one of three Directors to set up and develop their newly formed national charity foundation which will focus on providing financial support to students wishing to become proficient in trade and export skills. This will officially launch at the end of June 2021.



Cllr Norman Ramsay
  • Ballyclare
  • 07342064652


Norrie was co-opted onto Antrim and Newtownabbey Council in September 2020 to replace Alderman Danny Kinahan. Prior to this, he worked in the transport industry as a Manager and HGV Driver for some 33 years. He now works part-time for Dr Steve Aiken OBE MLA in Ballyclare Office. Presently he is the Secretary of the Ballyclare and District Police and Community Forum, Chair of the Ballyclare UUP Branch, and Membership Officer for South Antrim UUP Association. Previously served 10 years as Chair of his local Neighbourhood Watch Scheme.

Photo of Robert Foster


Cllr Robert Foster
  • Macedon
  • 07342064510


Robert has been a Councillor on Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council representing the Macedon DEA for 3 years.

A Chartered Project Manager by profession Robert is heavily involved right across the area taking a keen interest in working in collaboration with the community and business groups to deliver positive outcomes that enhance the area for all residents.


Cllr Leah Smyth
  • Antrim
  • 07984 030867

Community Planning and Regeneration Committee


Cllr Jim Montgomery
  • Antrim
  • 07471 147666

Audit Committee - Operations Committee


Cllr Roderick Swann
  • Antrim
  • 07423 457376

Planning Committee – Operations Committee - Lough Neagh Partnership – NILGA


Cllr Frazer Agnew
  • Three Mile Water
  • 077111 35267

Chair of Planning – Policy and Governance – Somme Association


Cllr Paul Michael
  • Airport
  • 07587 657120

Community Planning and Regeneration Committee – Policy and Governance Committee – Borough Arts and Cultural Advisory Panel – Reserve Forces and Cadets Association – Sixmilewater Trust - Massereene Wildfowl and Conservation Association, Treasurer - Countryside Alliance member - Chairman Royal British Legion Antrim 2016-17 and Conference Delegate NI - Chairman Police and Community Safety Partnership 2016-17 - Reserve Forces and Cadets Association N Ireland, (appointed Veterans Champion Antrim) 2016-17 - Member of the Antrim Borough Sports Hall of Fame for achievements in sport - Olympic Skeet Shooting NI International Team Manager - Olympic Skeet Shooting NI International team Captain - Olympic Skeet Shooting NI International member 2001-2010 - Olympic Skeet Shooting NI Five Nations Championship and Individual Champion at County, Ulster, Grand Prix, Northern Ireland, Ireland and England